“And I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”

Allright folks, there is going to be an underlying theme to this blog, and most posts in particular.  Music is my friend.  I have a song for all the different feelings, moods, and experiences in my life.  One of my favorite albums of all time is “The Joshua Tree” by U2.  Still haven’t found what i’m looking for describes the majority of people in this world.  We’re all in a constant search for something, we just don’t always know what it is.  This song is so fitting for these times.  When you first dive into online dating, it’s all about reading profiles and seeing if there is common ground between you and a potential “match”.  The funny thing is…99% of people say the same thing!  If that’s the case, why is it so tough to find the right person?  Everyone is looking for someone to make them laugh, to “explore” the world with, someone that is “drama free”, and someone to be a best friend.  I’m not kidding, I feel like this is on everyone’s profile!!  So the question is…if we’re all looking for that, why is it so hard to find? 

I think the answer is that we all define these things differently.  Now, i’m not going to lie, the “no drama” is one that cracks me up.  I believe you only have to deal with drama, if you’re a dramatic person.  You choose to be involved with people with drama, and if it’s not your thing then how did you find it in the first place?  There are dramatic people out there.  There are people that love being wrapped up in everyone’s business.  These people are funny because they love every minute of it, yet claim to hate it.  If you truly are looking for drama free, then stop creating conditions to find that. 

So maybe this is where I define what i’m looking for.  I do want a best friend.  I do want someone that picks me up when I fall down.  I want someone that has empathy when times are tough, and someone that is the icing on my cake.  I am looking for someone that is driven.  Someone that has experiences in this world that have molded who they are today.  Someone that has a career, and works hard for it every day.  Someone that knows work isn’t all there is to life, and knows how to recognize the little things in life that make them happy.  It’s all about the little things, folks.  If you can’t recognize how great a day is when little things happen…how will you ever be satisfied when the great big things happen? 

I started following a blog recently titled “1000 awesome things”, and it has helped me to recognize the little things.  Beyond that, it has also helped me to realize things that seem bad actually are for the best.  Check out that blog, and recognize the good things in life that happen every day.  This posting in particular opened my eyes, and hopefully it will do the same for you!

http://1000awesomethings.com/2010/02/17/567-getting-to-the-light-at-the-end-of-the-tunnel/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

