Clean Slate

Well, here I am.  26 years old, and starting over.  It’s funny how we become creatures of habit in our life, and become scared of the unknown.  I’ve had so many changes in the last 6 months of my life.  There have been great things such as a huge promotion at work, winning some great accounts, finding out I will be an uncle in December, and learning how to depend on my family.  There have also been some tough pieces of life that have changed. 

What do you do when you wake up one day, and realize all that you thought was going to happen never will?  You lose it.  You get sent in a spiral of emotions, and don’t know what to do.  What do you do when someone you have loved for years decides to leave?  How do you handle the pain, loneliness, and emptiness.  Well, the answer is you learn to depend on those that never stop loving you.  It’s been 4 months since the initial action that rocked my world, and i’m here today to say that i’m finally doing fine.  My friends and family have supported me, picked me up, and made me realize that i’m better off alone and lonely, than miserable for the rest of my life!!  It sounds so obvious, but I think most people fear the loneliness and sacrifice what they really want in order to avoid the feeling. 

The purpose of this blog is to let me express my thoughts, opinions, and emotions of leaving all that I knew and starting over.  But the biggest question is how do you start over and find new people to date?  I travel constantly with work, and my office environment isn’t one that offers opportunities to meet others in a similar place in life as I am.  That is the key…finding someone in a similar place in life.  So like most normal people in a younger generation…you turn to online dating!  This blog will be about my experiences jumping out into this new unknown world!  If you find it interesting, awesome.  If you are going through a similar phase/experience, share your thoughts!  And if you’ve always been afraid to give it a shot because of the notion of online dating, maybe this blog will help shape your opinion and get you off the sofa and out of the bars to find someone who truly is the right fit for you.  This is my first post, and I will continue to update it as I go through this process.  At this point in time, i’ve been on a few dates and have others planned, so i’m hitting the ground running! 

Stay tuned, and I will start to share my experiences, stories, and hopefully successes in this great unknown!

To those that have been my backbone these past four months (you know who you are), I can’t thank you enough for being there for me.  You are no one in this world unless you have folks that love you, care about you, and will do anything for you.  If you don’t have folks like that in your life, you need to find them as your first step.  You will never find happiness in this world unless you are happy with yourself.  That’s the next key to this whole process…Realizing that someone you date/marry/love isn’t your happiness in life, it’s the icing on your cake.  Be happy with yourself, and great things will come when you find that right person.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Clean Slate

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Jen says:

    Interesting to see a post that reads like a tell-all of my life.

    Two years ago, I – at age 25 – decided to walk away from a very unhealthy relationship – a marriage, in fact. You’re right – it’s better to be alone than be unhappy in the life you have.

    I too turned to online dating and couldn’t knock the experience one bit. I didn’t find “the one” but probably because that’s not quite what I was looking for, either. I met amazing people, had great chats, dinners, drinks and — blush, we’ll keep this G-rated).

    Wish you all the best in your search for the perfect match — just remember: to be truly happy in any relationship you must be happy in your own skin, first. And, never compromise who you are for love, like “the sunscreen song” ‘s advice: Don’t be reckless with other people’s hearts. Don’t put up with people who are reckless with yours.

    In case you haven’t already read it, check-out the book “Around the World in 80 Dates” by Jennifer Cox. Great read and will give you a whole new perspective on how far people will go to find the one they are meant to be with.

    Looking forward to your updates. Good Luck!!

Leave a Reply

